BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES

Virginia Livestock and Poultry Law and Related Regulations
Civil Penalty Matrix
Guidelines for Enforcement

SECTION 1: AUTHORITY
Statutory Authority: § 3.2-6044 of the Code of Virginia (1950), as amended.

SECTION 2: DEFINITIONS
The following words and terms, when used in these guidelines, shall have the following meanings,
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Board” means the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

“Hearing officer” means an attorney selected from a list maintained by the Executive Secretary of
the Supreme Court in accordance with § 2.2-4024 of the Code of Virginia.

“Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment” means a written notification from the case
reviewer to the person or facility alleged to have committed a violation of the Virginia Livestock and
Poultry Law, with the exception of § 3.2-6023 of the Law, or regulations adopted pursuant to the
Law, that identifies the specific violation(s) committed and indicates the amount of the civil
penalties based on the included Civil Penalty Matrix.

“Program Manager” means the manager of the Office of Veterinary Services within the Virginia
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Animal and Food Industry Services, or
a person designated by the State Veterinarian, who works under the direction of the State
Veterinarian.

“Responsible party” means the person or business alleged to have violated the Virginia Livestock
and Poultry Law, with the exception of § 3.2-6023 of the Law, or regulations adopted pursuant to
the Law.

“Virginia Livestock and Poultry Law” or “Law” means Chapter 60 of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia.

SECTION 3: PROVISION FOR CIVIL PENALTIES GENERALLY

Any responsible party violating any section of the Virginia Livestock and Poultry Law, with the exception
of § 3.2-6023 the Law, or regulations adopted pursuant to the Law may be assessed a civil penalty by the
Board in an amount not to exceed $1,000 per violation.



SECTION 4: PROCEDURE FOR CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT

A. Witness of Alleged Violation
An Office of Veterinary Services (OVS) staff member, upon witness of an alleged violation of the
Virginia Livestock and Poultry Law, with the exception of § 3.2-6023 the Law, or regulations adopted
pursuant to the Law, shall submit documentation of proof of alleged violation, including all relevant
facts, for review to the appropriate OVS personnel according to the table below.

Staff member noting alleged violation | Case Reviewer

Livestock Inspector Livestock Inspector Senior
Livestock Inspector Senior Regional Veterinary Supervisor
Regional Veterinary Supervisor Richmond Staff Veterinarian
Richmond Staff Veterinarian Regional Veterinary Supervisor

B. Notice of Alleged Violation
Upon review of the documentation of proof of alleged violation, if the OVS Case Reviewer concurs
that an alleged violation has occurred, he shall mail, by certified mail, the Notice of Alleged Violation
and Penalty Assessment, including all documentation of relevant facts, notice of civil penalty
amount, and consent resolution to the responsible party. The notice shall advise the responsible
party that he may (i) agree to the assessment, sign a consent resolution, waive his rights to an
informal fact finding conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia (Code), and pay the
civil penalty (due within 30 days after the date of receipt by the responsible party), or (ii) request an
informal fact finding conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code.

C. Informal Fact Finding Conference
Should the responsible party dispute the initial alleged violation and civil penalty assessed, the
responsible party shall request an informal fact finding conference within 30 days of receipt of the
Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment. The Program Manager will hold an informal
fact finding conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code prior to making a case decision.
Following the informal fact finding conference, the Program Manager will send to the responsible
party a written final notice of the findings via certified mail along with the fact basis for the findings
and the civil penalty assessed.

D. Formal Hearing
The responsible party may appeal a case decision by the Program Manager to the Board pursuant to
§ 2.2-4020 of the Code. If the responsible party intends to appeal the final notice of the Program
Manager, he shall notify the Secretary of the Board in writing within 30 days following his receipt of
the Program Manager’s findings. The Secretary of the Board will arrange for a hearing officer,
arrange the location of the formal hearing, and arrange for a court reporter. The hearing officer will
hear the relevant information about the case, consider the facts of all violations identified in the
case, and evaluate the civil penalty assessed. The hearing officer shall transmit his findings and
recommendations to the Board as required in § 2.2-4024(D) of the Code and inform the respondent
of his right under § 2.2-4021(A) of the Code to address the Board. The Board shall consider the
findings and recommendations of the hearing officer and render a case decision within the
timeframe established in § 2.2-4021(C) of the Code. The Board may establish limits on how much
time the representative of the responsible party will be afforded to address the Board with respect
to the formal hearing officer’s findings and recommendations.



SECTION 5: ASSESSMENT OF SEPARATE VIOLATIONS

A. Each violation of the Virginia Livestock and Poultry Law, with the exception of § 3.2-6023 the Law, or
regulations adopted pursuant to the Law, shall be assessed separately for the purpose of
determining the total civil penalty assessment.

B. Inthe event of a fifth or more occurrence of a violation within a period of five calendar years, a civil
penalty shall be assessed in accordance with Section 7 of these guidelines separately for each day of
the violation, beginning with the date of notification of the alleged violation and ending with the
date of abatement, to a maximum of $1,000 per violation.

SECTION 6: RECOVERY OF CIVIL PENALTIES, USE OF CIVIL PENALTY FUNDS

If the civil penalty is not paid within the allowed time period, the case will be referred to the Office of
the Attorney General for further action. All civil penalties assessed and not paid within the specified
time shall be recovered in a civil action brought by the Attorney General in the name of the
Commonwealth. Such civil penalties shall be paid into the state treasury and credited to the Livestock
and Poultry Disease Fund, as prescribed in § 3.2-6045 of the Law.

SECTION 7: DETERMINATION OF CIVIL PENALTY

The following matrix will be used to determine the dollar amount of civil penalties to be assessed for
violations. Cumulative penalties, where indicated, will be assessed for each day of the period from the
day of the first violation through the day of the current violation, up to a maximum of $1,000. When
noted in the following matrix, the responsible party shall be educated on the relevant law or regulation
to which the first violation occurred. When noted in the following matrix for second violations, the
responsible party shall be issued a warning letter via certified mail detailing the violation and informing
the responsible party of the potential for civil penalty assessment. When evidence suggests that the
responsible party has intentionally falsified records required by the Virginia Livestock and Poultry Law,
with the exception of § 3.2-6023 the Law, or regulations adopted pursuant to the Law, the Case
Reviewer shall assess the civil penalty as if the violation is the fourth occurrence of the violation.



Violation

Penalty

Authority

Category of Violation

15’(
Violation

an
Violation

3rd
Violation

4" and
Subsequent
Violation

2 VAC 5-70-20

Failure to observe
requirement for official
negative test for equine
infectious anemia

Education

Warning

$50

$100

2 VAC 5-141-20

Importation of agricultural
animals, companion animals
or any other animals or birds
into Virginia without an
official certificate of
veterinary inspection or
alternate movement
documentation

Education

Warning

$50

$100

2 VAC 5-141-30 thru
2 VAC 5-141-130

Failure to observe all
relevant import
requirements, except for the
certificate of veterinary
inspection, in the
importation of animals into
Virginia

Education

Warning

$50

$100

2 VAC 5-61-20,
2 VAC 5-170-30

Failure to register a livestock
market or poultry dealer

Education

Warning

$50

$100

2 VAC 5-61-40,
2 VAC 5-170-50

Failure of a poultry dealer or
livestock marketing facility
to maintain accurate records

Education

Warning

$50

$100

2 VAC 5-61-60

Failure to properly maintain
a livestock marketing facility

Warning

$50

$100

$250

2 VAC 5-61-30

Failure to officially identify
livestock

Education

Warning

$50

$100

Va. Code § 3.2-6016

Intentional alteration or
removal of official
identification of livestock

$100

$250

$500

$750

2VAC 5-40-40

Failure to observe
requirements for limited
movement and permits for
Tuberculosis positive
reacting cattle

S50

$100

$250

$500

Va. Code § 3.2-6032

Feeding of garbage to swine

Education

Warning

$50

$100




Violation Penalty
th
" nd 3 4" and
Authority Category of Violation . . i i . . Subsequent
Violation | Violation | Violation . .
Violation

Va. Code §§ 3.2-6010, | Failure to observe any $100 $250 $500 $750
3.2-6011, 3.2-6043(B) | proclamation issued by the

State Veterinarian
Va. Code §§ 3.2-6003, | Failure to observe and/or $250 $500 $750 $1,000
3.2-6005, 3.2-6007, meet all requirements of a
3.2-6043 Notice of Quarantine
Va. Code §§ 3.2-6008, | Failure to meet all $250 $500 $750 $1,000
3.2-6009, 3.2-6043(B) requirements of a

destruction order issued by

the State Veterinarian
Va. Code § 3.2-6000 et | Other violation of Education | Warning $50 $100
seq. and regu]ations Va. Code § 3.2-6000 et seq.
adopted pursuant and regulations adopted
thereto pursuant thereto

Adopted: December 8, 2016

Effective: January 1, 2017




